EGFR Inhibitor Skin Toxicity Tool (MESTT)

©MASCC, Multinational Association for Supportive Care in Cancer™ •  All rights reserved worldwide.

About the MESTT
The MESTT© was developed by the MASCC Skin Toxicity Study Group in 2008 as a tool to assist oncology health professions with the monitoring and reporting of dermatologic AEs in EGFRI-treated patients. The MESTT is an event-specific grading system that can be used to standardize assessment, optimize the use of EGFR inhibitors and enable researchers to conduct more informative, controlled studies in this patient population.

This project was supported by: OSI Pharmaceuticals and Amgen, Inc.
*Dr. Mario E. Lacouture (Organizing and Overall Meeting Chair) is supported by a Zell Scholarship from the Robert H Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Guidelines and Skin Toxicity Tools

alt View the MESTT  (1.1MB ppt)
alt Caring for your skin, hair and nails on "Targeted Therapies" alt - Download this brochure for patients suffering with EGFRI side effects.
alt Clinical practice guidelines for the prevention and treatment of EGFR inhibitor-associated dermatologic toxicities alt - Supportive Care in Cancer, Volume 19, Number 8, 1079-1095, DOI: 10.1007/s00520-011-1197-6.  Mario E. Lacouture, Milan J. Anadkat, René-Jean Bensadoun, Jane Bryce, Alexandre Chan, Joel B. Epstein, Beth Eaby-Sandy, Barbara A. Murphy and MASCC Skin Toxicity Study Group

MESTT© Approval
Non-profit entities may use the MESTT free of charge. Commercial companies require written approval and we request a nominal fee. The agreement is described in a letter/contract with the given commercial company. Please contact the MASCC Executive Director at [email protected] for approval procedure or questions.

MASCC Skin Toxicity Participants

Robert Baran, MD
Andrei Barasch, DMD
Ethan Basch, MD
Alice Chen, MD
Janet E. Dancey, MD
Beth Eaby, CRNP
Lawrence Einhorn, MD
Joel B. Epstein, DMD
Lindy P Fox, MD
Judi Johnson, RN, PhD
Mark Kris, MD
Sandra Kurtin, RN
Mario E Lacouture*, MD
Michael L. Maitland, MD
Bernardo L. Rapoport, MD
Cynthia Rittenberg, RN
Elise Olsen, MD
Siegfred Segaert, MD
Andy Trotti, MD
Lynne Wagner, PhD
Dennis P West, MD

MESTT ©MASCC, Multinational Association for Supportive Care in Cancer™ •  All rights reserved worldwide.
For Questions or additional information, contact the Executive Director at [email protected].