2019 Study Group Awards

2019    At the 2019 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting, seven Study Groups recognized high-quality work by junior investigators in their disciplines. The Fatigue Study Group was the first to honor outstanding young investigators with junior faculty and trainee awards as a means of professional recognition and a way to showcase cutting-edge work by up-and-coming researchers. The awards are based on the quality of abstracts submitted to the Annual Meeting. This year, junior investigator awards were conferred by the Study Groups on Fatigue, Geriatrics, Mucositis, Neurological Complications, Pediatrics, Psychosocial Issues, and Survivorship. In addition, the Fatigue Study Group recognized Debra L. Barton, PhD, FAAN, RN, as Distinguished Scientific Laureate.

Fatigue Study Group

  • Outstanding Junior Faculty Award
    Jérôme Desrame, MD (France)
    — The CIROCO Study: Evaluating the Correlation between Fatigue and Quality of Life in Cancer Patients Treated with Biosimilar Epoetin Alfa for Chemotherapy-Induced Anemia
  • Outstanding Trainee Research Award
    Anna-Maria Platschek, PhD (Germany)
    — Effects of Exercise on Cancer-Related Fatigue in Pediatric Oncology: A Comparison of an Inpatient Program at the Beginning and in the Middle of Cancer Therapy
  • Distinguished Scientific Laureate
    Debra L. Barton, PhD, FAAN, RN
    , was named this year’s Distinguished Scientific Laureate in recognition of her distinguished academic and research career focusing on cancer symptom management, including cancer-related fatigue. Debra is a Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Rackham Graduate Studies at the University of Michigan’s School of Nursing. Her program of research evolved from her involvement and leadership in the Cancer Clinical Trials Network (CCTN) over the past 11 years. As Principal Investigator or co-PI, she has led 15 large Phase III randomized clinical trials in oncology symptom management, and 7 Phase II trials. She has received numerous grants to implement translational aims to explore mechanisms of action and symptom physiology in research focusing on cancer-related fatigue, cognitive dysfunction, sleep, nausea and vomiting, hot flashes, libido, vaginal atrophy, peripheral neuropathy. Debra has served as a member of MASCC’s Board of Directors (2016-2018), a past Vice-Chair of the Fatigue Study Group, and a member of MASCC’s most recent Strategic Planning Committee. She is a member of MASCC’s Study Groups on Fatigue, Psychosocial Issues, and Survivorship.

Geriatrics Study Group

Outstanding Abstract Awards

  • Belkiz Quintanilla, BS (USA) — Older Cancer Survivors Have a Lower Symptom Burden
  • Mostafa Mohamed, MSc, MD (USA) — Association of Polypharmacy and Potentially Inappropriate Medications with Physical Function in Older Patients with Cancer Receiving Chemotherapy: A University of Rochester Nationwide Geriatric Assessment Study

Mucositis Study Group

Research Workshop Presentation Awards

  • Hannah Wardill, PhD (Australia) — Developing a Rat Model of Melphalan-Induced Mucositis for Fundamental and Translational Research
  • Katia Rupel, DDS, PhD (Italy) — Photobiomodulation Modulates Oxidative Stress In Vitro and In Vivo in Cancer Patients Suffering from Oral Mucositis

Neurological Complications Study Group

Outstanding Abstract Awards

  • Alex Molasiotis, RN, PhD (Hong Kong) — A Randomized Assessor-Blinded Wait-List Controlled Trial to Assess the Effectiveness and Cost-Effectiveness of Acupuncture in the Management of Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy
  • Yi Long Toh BSc Pharm (Hons) (Singapore) — Pre-Chemotherapy Plasma Dehydroepiandrosterone Levels and Its Sulfated Form-DHEA(S) as a Predictor for Cancer-Related Cognitive Impairment in Breast Cancer Patients Receiving Chemotherapy

Pediatrics Study Group

Outstanding Abstract Awards

  • Jun Xuan Ng (Singapore) — Caring for Terminally Ill Children: Negative Impacts on the Doctor's Well-Being and Personhood
  • Jinbing Bai, PhD, MSN, RN (USA) — Comparison of the Dietary Intakes between Children with Solid Tumors after the Completion of Chemotherapy and Healthy Controls

Psychosocial Study Group

Best Abstract Award

  • Charles Kamen, PhD (USA) — Perspectives of LGBT Cancer Patients and Their Caregivers Regarding Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Disclosure

Survivorship Study Group

The Survivorship Study Group recognized two junior faculty researchers and two trainees.

Outstanding Junior Faculty Awards

  • Jessica Krok-Schoen, PhD (USA) — Primary Care Physicians’ Perspectives on the Survivorship Care for Older Breast Cancer Survivors: A Pilot Study
  • Elizabeth K. Arthur, PhD, APRN-CNP, AOCNP (USA) — Predictors of Women’s Self-Efficacy to Communicate with Their Partners about Sex and Intimacy after Cancer

Outstanding Trainee Awards

  • Chia Jie Tan, BPharm (Hons), BCOP (Singapore) — Employment and Financial Challenges Faced by Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer Survivors: A Qualitative Study
  • Sarah M. Belcher, RN, PhD, OCN (USA) — Characterizing Psychobehavioral Risks in Survivors of Multiple Primary Cancers


Share this post: