Introducing the MASCC Awards Committee and MASCC Awards

2021    MASCC has a wonderful tradition of awarding prizes to recognize the best research and contributions of both MASCC members and the supportive cancer care community. This month, we’d like to share the details on how these awards and the committee that manages these awards. The committee is made up of a Chair and members, who discuss all applications and rank winners.

In 2021, David Hui, MD, MSc, of the MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas, USA, is leading the committee. The members of the committee, including MASCC Board members and previous award winners, are medical scientists, palliative care physicians, medical and radiation oncologists, pharmacologists, and nurses. Having a broad range of expertise ensures the committee reflects the MASCC membership and the applications received. If you are interested in joining the Awards Committee, please contact the Chair at [email protected].

You may have seen previous award winners featured in recent issues of the MASCC Society News. The MASCC awards are allocated annually, and include:

Distinguished Service Award
The MASCC Distinguished Service Award recognizes a MASCC member that has shown outstanding contributions to the MASCC and its mission. Applicants are nominated by their peers and the award is presented each year at the MASCC Annual Meeting. The 2019 winner was Professor Rachel Gibson. The 2020 winner will be announced and presented with their award at the 2021 meeting.

Young Investigator Awards
The Young Investigator Awards recognize outstanding new-to-the-field investigators’ research accomplishments. The award is open to all junior investigators who have submitted an abstract to an upcoming MASCC annual meeting. Previous winners of a Young Investigator Award have gone on to hold leadership roles within MASCC.

Annual Meeting Travel Scholarships
This scholarship is awarded to oncology healthcare professionals from countries with limited resources whose practice and/or research focuses on supportive care in cancer, and who would not be able to attend the annual meeting without financial assistance. In 2021, these awards will be available in a modified version, called Conference Scholarships.

Cynthia Rittenberg Travel Scholarship
From among the Travel Scholarship/Conference Scholarship recipients, the Cynthia Rittenberg Travel Scholarship is awarded to the nurse applicant with the highest score.

Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award
The Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award recognizes excellent scientific achievement in the field of supportive care in cancer by an individual MASCC member. The honor is awarded to the author of the highest-ranking abstract submitted to the Annual Meeting. This award is presented at the MASCC Annual Meeting and the recipient delivers the annual Steven Grunberg Lecture.

Learn more about the awards, eligibility rules, and how to apply for the newly opened 2021 round.

Share this post: