Print Email

Awards and Scholarships

Distinguished Service Award

The MASCC Distinguished Service Award recognizes meritorious service and outstanding contributions to the MASCC and its mission. Winners are nominated by their peers and should demonstrate exemplary leadership and accomplishments in research, education, and/or clinical supportive cancer care. The award is presented each year at the MASCC Annual Meeting.
 Previous Recipients
 Award Policy and Nomination Form

Young Investigator Awards

The Young Investigator Awards recognize outstanding young investigators’ research accomplishments. This award is open to all junior investigators who have submitted an abstract to the MASCC Annual Meeting. Young Investigator Awards are awarded to the first authors of the 10 abstracts with the highest scores. These abstracts are chosen from the top 20 percent of all abstracts submitted to the symposium. In addition, the Outstanding Young Investigator Award will go to the Young Investigator with the highest-ranked abstract. The awards are presented at the MASCC Annual Meeting.

The award includes a complimentary conference registration and reimbursement of travel expenses up to an amount determined annually by the MASCC Executive Board.

To be eligible for the Young Investigator Award, an applicant must meet the following criteria:

  • An applicant must be in training or out of training for no more than seven years. Candidates who have had career disruptions are eligible, provided they are no more than 7 years full-time equivalent out of training. Training is defined as any clinical or post-graduate training.
  • An applicant must submit an abstract as the first author to the MASCC Annual Meeting and must have primarily conducted the research presented in the abstract. Upon receipt of the abstract, the author will be sent a link to apply for a Young Investigator Award.
  • Candidates can be from any country and any profession. They need not be current MASCC members, but must register for the Annual Meeting and must present their abstract at the meeting. Applicants may be asked to write a brief report after the meeting and also to complete a short post-meeting evaluation.
  • Candidates who have previously been awarded a Young Investigator Award are ineligible to reapply.

 Young Investigators Award Policy and Application Instructions

Annual Meeting Travel Scholarships 

MASCC offers a limited number of travel scholarships to attend the MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting. Scholarship recipients receive complimentary Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement of travel expenses up to an amount determined annually by MASCC’s Executive Committee. Scholarships are presented to the awardees at the Annual Meeting.

This scholarship is given to oncology healthcare professionals whose practice and/or research focuses on supportive care in cancer.

Each applicant must meet the following criteria:

  • The applicant must live and work in a country of limited resources (see Eligible Countries).
  • The applicant must be an oncology healthcare professional, such as a physician, nurse, social worker, pharmacist, dentist, dental hygienist, or psychologist.
  • The applicant must have a professional focus on supportive cancer care.
  • Anyone who has previously received a Travel Scholarship cannot reapply.
  • Applicants must submit an abstract to the Annual Meeting, along with a completed Travel Scholarship application by the Early Abstract Deadline and must state that they would be unable to attend the meeting without this Scholarship.

 Travel Assistance Scholarship Policy and Application Instructions 

Cynthia Rittenberg Travel Scholarship

From among the Travel Scholarship recipients, the Cynthia Rittenberg Travel Scholarship may be awarded if the Awards Committee agrees that the nurse applicant with the highest score is a worthy applicant.

Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award

The Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award recognizes excellent scientific achievement in the field of supportive care in cancer by an individual MASCC member. The honor is awarded to the author of the highest-ranking abstract submitted to the Annual Meeting. This award is presented at the MASCC Annual Meeting and the recipient delivers the annual Steven Grunberg Lecture.

Candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • The recipient must be a member of MASCC in good standing.
  • Authors of all abstracts submitted for the Annual Meeting are eligible.
  • The abstract must demonstrate excellent scientific achievement in research, education, and/or clinical supportive cancer care.
 Steven M. Grunberg Award Policy

Donate to the MASCC Development Fund  Help support our Scholarship programs.  Donate today.  >> more information 

For more information contact us at [email protected]